Wet Paper

By DON MUNRO

Wet paper

is

layered, piece by piece

over a hollow form

and caressed with white paste.

There is new life here.

Soaked strips of The New York Times

give it its identity–“Teenager Kills Bronx Woman”

“Neediest Cases Fund Reaches $1.5 Million.” A

modern Frankenstein emerges … society’s creation.

I look at what is made and smile because I can see myself.

Or my limited understanding of who I am.

There is no fixed self. But I see

what I think is

good

and

bad.

Leave a Reply

